Busy or Peaceful, the choice is yours…

With all the hustle and bustle going on in our world during this time of year I sometimes wonder how many are missing the peaceful, happy moments that pass us by each day.  Are we all so busy that we don’t see the wonder and excitement in the little faces in those stores or on the streets?  Children see the fun in all these things that we seem to miss.  Where did we lose this ability to enjoy the small things, to look for the good in others, to experience the wonder of the unknown not fear it? When was the last time you actually took the time to look around and enjoy the beauty, serenity and joy of the moment?  Do you just take it all for granted?

Today Laura needed some errands run and I loaded up my doggy in the car and headed off to town… it got me thinking of how glad I was to be able to help her out so she could do the things she needed to do before her big trip to help our daughter and family during the delivery of grand baby number 5 in a few days!

So here we are going down the road, snowing lightly and listening to Christmas Hymns playing on the radio!  I took the time to watch the geese down on the river, to spot that bald-headed eagle sitting in the tree scanning the water for his lunch.  To see the beauty of the snow-covered mountains reflected in the water across the way.  I reveled in the happiness of my dog Rowdy who was so excited to be with me no matter where we were going or what we were doing…  life is good!

Waved at the family crossing the road in Colville and mouthed Merry Christmas to them through the closed window and they did the same in reply with a bunch of smiles!  I enjoyed seeing the Nativity scene in front of my church as I pulled in to drop off some stuff.

Headed back home and decided I would stop by our favorite coffee shop AJ’s in Kettle Falls for a surprise mocha for Laura… the girls always have a smile and treat us so well, even when they are working holidays!  What a blessing they are to those who enter those doors… makes me wonder how people see me when I am at work during those busy times, am I a blessing to them or just a warm body taking up space in the store…

It all comes down to attitude and choices… there is an old song that says you should stop and smell the roses, that is what we all need to do!  Take time to notice what is really going on around you throughout your day.  Look for the good in people, not the bad!  Smile more!  Laugh more!!! Be a shining light in a dark place!!!  Become like a child again with all that excitement, wonder, amazement, joy, anticipation and love!  It is a choice, make the right one!

Having health problems, there is a remedy for you!  It tells us in the Bible that a merry heart doeth good like a medicine!  You may not be healed totally but you will be a happier person and people will notice and wonder how you can do that!

Spread the joy of this Christmas season, all it costs cannot be bought in a store, it is the gift of hope, the gift of joy, the gift of life!

May you be richly blessed this Christmas & through the coming New Year, Joe

About Jconowitch

I have spent 36 + years in Stevens County enjoying the many surrounding recreational areas while camping, canoeing, hiking and backpacking. I am married to my high school sweetheart with 2 children, 5 awesome grand kids. I have been actively involved working with many organizations to help children and adults throughout the area, as well as starting the Stevens County Scale Model club with a good friend. If you want to live and raise your family in a fantastic area or find a peaceful area to retire, this is among the best, and I am here to help you make your dreams a reality!
This entry was posted in Life at our Cottage... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Busy or Peaceful, the choice is yours…

  1. Jconowitch says:

    Thanks for checking out my blog and hitting like Southern Sea Muse! I appreciate it!

  2. I needed to read this! Thank you so much!

  3. Jconowitch says:

    Thanks Babe, I love you so much and am glad I can help out! ME

  4. I really enjoyed reading your post today. You have a wonderful blog here. Thanks for sharing.

    Please add our link to your website thanks.

    Change your life today – Visit the Online Expert Marketers Now

  5. Jconowitch says:

    Thanks for checking in Online Affiliates… glad you enjoyed my post!

  6. It was very good. See you around

  7. Linda Jo says:

    Great post, Joe! God bless you.

  8. Jconowitch says:

    Thanks Linda, HE does!

Leave a Reply

