Leaving on a jet plane… well maybe!

For anyone who has ever traveled on a plane things are much more complicated than they used to be.

Take for example my wife’s flight I scheduled two months ago for a Christmas time flight to go help my daughter who is expecting their third child and needs her mom there to watch the other two when she goes into labor and to help out for a few weeks. 

Scheduled early to get the seats and make sure she could go… it was cheaper to actually fly on the holiday as fewer people travel on the actual day so that is what we did.  A month passed and we get an email stating that they changed one of her flights… I look at it and now they have scheduled a connecting flight that leaves 3 hours before she even arrives there… HELLO, how does that work???

Pick up the phone and talk to a man on the other end who doesn’t get it right away until about the third time explaining why it wouldn’t work and then the light comes on and he says, “Oh I see what you mean!”  He proceeds to argue with me about how it would only work with 4 different connections as that is all that is available.  I tell him, no I am looking at the screen for their flights right in front of me and tell him the flight numbers that are available and he argues that no they are not available… I tell him to just book it and figure I will be changing it with someone a bit brighter… I ask him to email it to me when he is done and he agrees.

So I get the email confirmation and lo and behold it is now the flights I told him were online in front of me… yes that is right, the very ones he said were not available!  This was a week ago and then we arrive at todays fiasco!

Laura gets a phone call from the carrier that says they changed her flight again… now there were multiple connections and it would go overnight into the next day.  I told her I would deal with it when I got home which brings my to this afternoon…

So I get online and look at the mess they made this time… oh boy this will be fun to fix!  Call a very nice gal and explain to her how unacceptable this is and that my daughter is having a baby then and needs my wife there then, not the next month, then.  She must be a grandma cause she caught it right away and booked a whole new set of flights with less layovers and better times.  Hallelujah someone who actually cares!  I have the confirmation email once again and now we get to sit and wait and see if someone else wants to play switch the flights once more… 

Let me know your horror flight stories and we can all laugh together! 

Until next time have a wonderful week, Joe

About Jconowitch

I have spent 36 + years in Stevens County enjoying the many surrounding recreational areas while camping, canoeing, hiking and backpacking. I am married to my high school sweetheart with 2 children, 5 awesome grand kids. I have been actively involved working with many organizations to help children and adults throughout the area, as well as starting the Stevens County Scale Model club with a good friend. If you want to live and raise your family in a fantastic area or find a peaceful area to retire, this is among the best, and I am here to help you make your dreams a reality!
This entry was posted in Life at our Cottage... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Leaving on a jet plane… well maybe!

  1. Jessica says:

    What a pain!

Leave a Reply

